Life after tx

This is the forum for the Kidney Patient Guide. We welcome feedback about the site and any information that may be of use or interest to other visitors.

IMPORTANT NOTE: This forum is not for queries that would otherwise be addressed to a doctor. If you have a question about your condition or treatment please consult your renal unit or doctor. We do not have any editorial or medical resources to answer individual queries.

Moderator: administrator

R30

Life after tx

Post by R30 »

I have just been reading the new copy of Kidney Life Magazine (a UK based charity magazine), and read an article about a chap who has been told that he can no longer do the gardening now he has had a tx. I asked my Consultant about this yesterday in clinic and he confirmed this, unless I wear gloves.
Is there anything else I need to be cautious of as I haven't been given any info. on this? Unfortunately I work in a school so will unable to avoid the bugs that go round.
Dr said that it would be risky if I was to do work-experience down a sewer!
Any help anyone can give would be appreciated. I do feel that I've missed out on quite a bit of important information since leaving hospital that should have been given before my discharge.
Ruth
JMan
Location: Lives in a slightly weird bit of Shropshire called Telford!

Post by JMan »

Its not the greatest of written articles (its a letter in fact).

The main risk comes from soil born bacteria, such as those found in animal faeces and other soil born bacteria. This is a particular problem if you use say, horse manure on your roses, or have cats that 'visit' your garden.

I've asked my docs about this on numerous occasions and not really been given guidance other than 'commonsense advice', wear protective clothing, use an antibacterial hand wash etc.. THe sort of things that are becoming commonplace in any Horticultural working environment that has public visitors (educational establishments/city farms etc)