questions for the PD patients-lost dwell time and neg. UF

This is the forum for the Kidney Patient Guide. We welcome feedback about the site and any information that may be of use or interest to other visitors.

IMPORTANT NOTE: This forum is not for queries that would otherwise be addressed to a doctor. If you have a question about your condition or treatment please consult your renal unit or doctor. We do not have any editorial or medical resources to answer individual queries.

Moderator: administrator

Pam

questions for the PD patients-lost dwell time and neg. UF

Post by Pam »

Hi guys,
I have been doing APD since July 16, 2009 and it is going great, but I am confused about "lost dwell" time-I have it almost every time I dialyze. What is it and how does it affect one's dialysis treatment? Also, I get a negative UF occasionally and want to know what that means in terms of treatment quality?
Thanks very much!
Pam
32 yr cadaver transplant recipient, now on peritoneal dialysis with the help of Audrey, my Homechoice machine... as of 4/3/09
Romans 8:28
MandyV

Post by MandyV »

Hi Pam - 'lost dwell' and negative UF are indicators of less that optimum APD.

The dwell time is the time the fluid is in your peritoneum which means that less time there means less time the toxins can be transported into the PD fluid by osmosis and therefore you may not get the clearance which is optimal. I wouldn't worry about small numbers but if you have a bad night then it is worth discussing with your PD nurse. For example for me it was often a sign of fibrin which needed to work its way out.