Life Assurance

This is the forum for the Kidney Patient Guide. We welcome feedback about the site and any information that may be of use or interest to other visitors.

IMPORTANT NOTE: This forum is not for queries that would otherwise be addressed to a doctor. If you have a question about your condition or treatment please consult your renal unit or doctor. We do not have any editorial or medical resources to answer individual queries.

Moderator: administrator

BB

Life Assurance

Post by BB »

Hi,

I'm very new to this but I have been on this BB loads of times and you all sounded so nice, I've finally plucked up the courage to post for your help.
My boyfriend has ESRF and has had kidney problems all his life. We have been trying to get Life Assurance for our mortgage as we have just been told by his previous insurer that they can no longer provide cover (our financial advisor forgot to mention the kidney failure?!). None of the major insurance companies are now prepared to cover for a pre-existing medical condition.

If anyone could give us any help or suggestions as to where we can go from here, it would be much appreciated. :)

Thank you
BB
JMan
Location: Lives in a slightly weird bit of Shropshire called Telford!

Money money money... Life Assurance

Post by JMan »

Hi
Firstly .. Welcome to the board.

Not having been in the position of looking to buy a property or get life insurance policys I don't know too much about this.
However I DO remember a post on another board that mentioned Cheltenham & Gloucester as a favourable BS to approach.

Given the 'life issue' of this you might try financial institutions such as the ecology BS or Triodos bank altho I cannot remember if they offer the services you are looking for.

Do try ringing round quite a lot more before you give up.
You might also try the NKF helpline, see: http://www.kidney.org.uk/main/helpline.html
They may or may not be able to offer some guidance.

And come back and let us know how you get on :)