Help with hd diet please...

This is the forum for the Kidney Patient Guide. We welcome feedback about the site and any information that may be of use or interest to other visitors.

IMPORTANT NOTE: This forum is not for queries that would otherwise be addressed to a doctor. If you have a question about your condition or treatment please consult your renal unit or doctor. We do not have any editorial or medical resources to answer individual queries.

Moderator: administrator

debbie

Help with hd diet please...

Post by debbie »

I've been dialysing for many yrs now and am very aware of diet restrictions etc. Today I was told that I am malnourished and need to do something about it. I was told to eat more fish and chicken, however I'm vegetarian and have been for 20 yrs. It was suggested that I eat lots of dairy products but I suffer from high phosphate so that wouldn't be such a good idea. I also still have an out of control PTH so to add more phosphate or calcium to the equation may cause more trouble. Apparently my recent kt/v showed a urea of 14 which indicates that I'm not eating properly. Does anyone have any experience of this that they could share with me please..... :D
Gil

Protein

Post by Gil »

Debbie,

If all you need is more protein your best choice is eggwhite powder or whey protein.
http://www.eggstore.com
Eggwhite is lower on P, Ca, and Mg, but higher on K and NA.
For 1 gram of protein:
Eggwhite Whey milk
P= 1.3 mg 5mg 30 mg

For more info go to my website and read the diet page.
Good luck,
Gil
oldborris

Post by oldborris »

Debbie: I'm not the one to give advice on diet since I appear to be one of the lucky ones that practically ignores diet restrictions and gets away with it.