Confused about FSGS!!

This is the forum for the Kidney Patient Guide. We welcome feedback about the site and any information that may be of use or interest to other visitors.

IMPORTANT NOTE: This forum is not for queries that would otherwise be addressed to a doctor. If you have a question about your condition or treatment please consult your renal unit or doctor. We do not have any editorial or medical resources to answer individual queries.

Moderator: administrator

Vicki

Confused about FSGS!!

Post by Vicki »

Hi. I'm new to this, and I guess you all can tell me alot more than doctors can about how this whole thing feels. Although, as I have read, alot of you have kidney problems worse than mine, I'm worried about how I'm feeling.

I was diagnosed after feeling tired all the time and having lots of protein in my urine. I had a biopsy at Addenbrookes last October (trust me to have one done by a registrar who didn't like to use too much anaesthetic!! :( ) and was diagnosed with FSGS.

I was started on a high dosage of prednisolone, which made me put on loads of weight (just in time for my wedding this May! :D ). The steroids didn't work, and I was then started on cyclosporine. I also take statin to lower my cholesterol and lisinopril to lower my BP.

In the past year, I have been feeling really rough. I'm always extremely tired, achey, and have no motivation. My consultant says it's because of the cyclosporin that lowers my immune system. However, I'm missing lots of work, and was basically interested if anyone else who has FSGS has the same symptoms as me? Although this sounds bad, it would make me feel better if someone did, because I'm beginning to think it's just me!! :(

Thanks for reading!!

Vicki
Mike

Post by Mike »

Hi,

welcome and sorry that you're not feeling too good. I know eaxctly how you feel, I've got FSGS but from the sounds of things I may be a bit further advanced.