NEW - STAGE 2 - TOLVAPTAN

This is the forum for the Kidney Patient Guide. We welcome feedback about the site and any information that may be of use or interest to other visitors.

IMPORTANT NOTE: This forum is not for queries that would otherwise be addressed to a doctor. If you have a question about your condition or treatment please consult your renal unit or doctor. We do not have any editorial or medical resources to answer individual queries.

Moderator: administrator

Bodhisattva75

NEW - STAGE 2 - TOLVAPTAN

Post by Bodhisattva75 »

Hey All,

This is my first time on here, and after reading through the responses you all give, I think I'm in the right place :)

It's not for me, it's actually my 43 year old husband that has PKD turned 'moderate' CKD . Unfortunately, his Mum had it too (and later had a successful transplant) and his sister has PKD. My hubby is now at around 23% kidney function and on Tolvaptan. His CKD nurse at Birmingham Queen Elizabeth is absolutely unbelievable, we couldn't as for a more caring and helpful lady.

The reason I'm on here is that hubby has recently had 2 high readings for liver enzymes. One was shortly after losing his Dad in January - he had a really bad time and a couple of big blow outs. Luckily, after 3 months his readings neutralised. However, he's now back on the lowest dose and has just had 2 high readings so has had to come off them until results have normalised. We have no idea what might have triggered this. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

We're both a little panicky at the prospect of him having to stop the medication. I've found myself googling 'CKD' and, like many things on Google, you're bombarded with the most negative outcomes and stories. This is my reason for being here, I could do with some support and, just advice really I suppose.

Can anyone else relate to this?

I'd be interested to speak to anyone that has had dialysis and, possibly, a transplant to understand the process second hand.