Professional athlete with kidney problem

This is the forum for the Kidney Patient Guide. We welcome feedback about the site and any information that may be of use or interest to other visitors.

IMPORTANT NOTE: This forum is not for queries that would otherwise be addressed to a doctor. If you have a question about your condition or treatment please consult your renal unit or doctor. We do not have any editorial or medical resources to answer individual queries.

Moderator: administrator

Rjf5840

Professional athlete with kidney problem

Post by Rjf5840 »

Hi there, I am a 28 year old professional athlete and I have recently been suffering with kidney problems.

Dehydration and illness caused my gfr to reduce to 46 and this effected my physical performance and causing fatigue much quicker than usual.

The doctors have told me not to train for a month while my kidney function increases.

Has anyone had problems while exercising?
Thumps

Re: Professional athlete with kidney problem

Post by Thumps »

Hi there

Certainly I found that when I had severe kidney failure I tired much more easily, had a longer recovery time and had to do less/shorter sessions when I was able to exercise. I also lost muscle mass and stamina. You need time to have your body recover before you push it too hard. Sounds like your doctor is giving you reasonable advice. It may not be that you need to stop working out entirely, but dropping the number and intensity of sessions would seem sensible, while still doing enough to avoid losing too much fitness. If you're a professional presumably you have a coach? Do they agree with your doctor's assessment?
PKD/PLD diagnosed 1994, CKD stage 5 Oct 2007, Living Donor Kidney Transplant Dec 2008, still going strong!
rheaybou

Post by rheaybou »

It's a strange situation with kidney failure.